top of page

We All Need a Cheerleader


Some people ask me why I’m so proud of my Pilates teacher journey. In addition to it being an amazing workout, fueling my main character syndrome, and pushing me creatively and physically, I am proud of it because it’s one of the things in life where it wasn’t expected of me and nobody asked me or pressured me to pursue it, but I still persevered and did it anyways. It’s not something that will bring me a big source of income or will open up amazing career paths. It’s not something that will get me into higher social circles or make me famous. It’s just truly something I pursued on my own, find joy in doing, and didn’t give up on when the going got hard. 


I first started my Pilates teacher journey at a small studio in Berlin. I did an intensive anatomy course for two weeks, and then three months of observation and physical training and attending practice classes. It was a lot to juggle with my work, social life, and “me” time but I remember feeling so proud of myself when I passed my trial class. Especially when my very German trainer congratulated me. In the months that followed, I started by teaching just one class a week. And then two, three, and eventually working my way up to sometimes teaching five classes a week. I saw regular clients come to my class, request songs, and stay after class was over to chat with me. I had friends who went out of their way to come to my class and support me. I loved the mini-community I was building. I felt that I became more and more confident with every class I taught. I started to come up with new combinations of moves, changed my music often, and always looked forward to the next time I would be in the studio. 


When I moved, I knew I’d miss the studio. I felt like I had really built something there, but I also knew it wasn’t the only studio I could ever teach at. One of my first priorities was to find another studio that I could become a part of. When I found my new studio, it felt like the biggest relief. It was a steep step up in quality and clientele compared to my previous studio, and I was so excited to get started. But with better quality and bougier clientele comes higher standards. The studio has a very specific method they teach in, and there is a methodology to their moves (whereas my previous studio was more free-flowing and dependent on the instructor). I found the new studio three weeks before they started their next round of teacher training - a sign from the universe that I was really in the right place at the right time. For two months, I either attended teacher training in the afternoons or sweated it out during a class. I wanted to show the owners that they didn’t take too big of a gamble on the new girl in town. I wanted to really try my hardest and prove to myself and them that I could do it. 


When my initial audition class didn’t go as planned, I was crestfallen, but the trainers didn’t give up on me. They gave me constructive feedback that I took to heart and really internalized for the coming weeks. I went to classes with the feedback in mind, listened to possible tracks on every walk I went on, and daydreamed about combinations of moves while I did my morning commute. I worked on really listening to the music and moving on the beat. I learned the difference between 4-counts and 8-counts in music. My pilates training really became my number one focus and the thing that brought me the most joy in my day-to-day life.  


This week, all that work finally paid off. I started teaching regularly (4 classes in my first week!), and got amazing feedback from our head trainer. I walked home with a massive smile on my face. I’m sure the endorphins after class had something to do with it, but I was also so proud of myself for not giving up when the first class didn’t go well. I was so proud of myself for not letting my ego and embarrassment get in the way of doing something I loved. The thrill of being in front of a group of people “performing” sometimes transforms itself into fear, but I am so proud of myself that despite my sometimes shaky voice or clumsy moves, I still make it through every class with a smile on my face. 


While I could pretend that this was alllll me, I would be lying if I didn’t mention that one of the biggest contributors to my success was how much the head trainer believed in me. She never gave up on me. She checked in with me regularly. She always answered all of my questions, even if I’m sure she was sick of repeating herself. She came to my classes to support me and give me feedback. She sent me helpful YouTube videos to reference. She came prepared with songs and combos to suggest. I really could not have gotten to the place I am today without her constant support. Even the support of all the girls I did my training with was amazing - we shared playlists and encouraged one another despite a sometimes challenging language barrier. I hope that one day I can pay it and forward it to another instructor. 


Outside of pilates, I feel like this is the perfect example of a mentor-mentee, trainer-trainee, manager-direct report relationship. It’s ultimately up to YOU to do the thing, but you have someone by your side who has already done the thing and is rooting for you to succeed every step of the way. I find it hard to remember another time when I felt so supported by another woman in my life. The fact that her support was to do something that ultimately makes ME so happy is the cherry on top of the cake. 


Now that the training is over and I’m officially on the schedule, I feel so lucky to have a place to go to every week where I feel like I’m really part of the team. Where people know my name, welcome me, and support me. When you move to a new place, it’s so rare to have that, and even though I know the friendships are all new, there’s a sense of comfort in knowing that I am accountable to that team and those people. That if I disappeared, they would notice. I am so proud of myself for not giving up and accomplishing hard things.

Comentários

Não foi possível carregar comentários
Parece que houve um problema técnico. Tente reconectar ou atualizar a página.

DON'T MISS THE FUN.

Thanks for submitting!

FOLLOW ME ELSEWHERE

  • Spotify
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

POST ARCHIVE

bottom of page